Announced: Meteor Choice Music Prize Album of Year 2014 shortlist


The shortlist has just been announced for this year’s Meteor Choice Music Prize Album of the Year 2014 in association with IMRO and IRMA.

The shortlist is as follows:

Aphex Twin Syro (Warp)
Delorentos Night Becomes Light (Universal Ireland)
The Gloaming – The Gloaming (Real World)
Hozier Hozier (Rubyworks/Universal)
James Vincent McMorrowPost Tropical (Faction)
Sinead O’ ConnorI’m Not Bossy, I’m The Boss (Nettwerk)
Damien RiceMy Favourite Faded Fantasy (Warner Music)
The Riptide MovementGetting Through (Universal Ireland)
U2Songs of Innocence (Island)
We Cut Corners Think Nothing (Delphi)

The winning album will be selected by the judging panel at the Meteor Choice Music Prize live event, which takes place on Thursday 5 March 2015 at Vicar Street, Dublin with as many of the artists playing as possible.

The Meteor Choice Music Prize event will be broadcast live on Today FM in a special four hour extended programme during the Paul Mc Loone show.  RTE 2 Television will also broadcast a one-hour highlights programme of the Meteor Choice Music Prize on Sunday 8 March 2015.

Tickets go on sale this Friday, 9 January 2015 at 09:00.